

Meeting Minutes - Joint Commission on Health Care

May 22, 2024 – 10:00 a.m. House Subcommittee Room C – General Assembly Building

Members Present

Delegate N. Baxter Ennis Delegate M. Keith Hodges Delegate Patrick Hope Delegate Robert Orrock Delegate Cia Price Delegate Mark Sickles Delegate Howard Wachsmann Delegate Rodney Willett

Members Absent

Delegate Cliff Hayes Delegate Atoosa Reaser Senator Todd Pillion Senator L. Louise Lucas Senator Barbara Favola Senator Ghazala Hashmi Senator Christopher Head Senator Mamie Locke (virtual) Senator Stella Pekarsky Senator David Suetterlein

Staff Present

Sarah Stanton Emily Atkinson Estella Obi-Tabot Kyu Kang Jen Piver-Renna Agnes Dymora

Call to order and welcoming comments – Delegate Orrock

Members motioned to nominate and voted unanimously to elect Delegate Willett as Chair and Senator Hashmi as Vice Chair.

Chairman Willett announced the following members to serve on the Executive Subcommittee: Delegate Willett, Senator Hashmi, Delegate Hodges, Delegate Hope, Senator Locke, Delegate Orrock, Senator Pillion, Delegate Sickles, Senator Suetterlein.

Roll Call - Agnes Dymora

Executive Director Sarah Stanton provided an overview of the meeting agenda and the Commission. She also summarized the studies and briefings that were approved last December as workplan items, as well as the new topics that were referred this spring. She also provided the proposed meeting dates for 2024 and summarized the JCHC virtual meeting policy. Sarah concluded her presentation by briefing members on the fate of budget amendments from recommendations of last year's studies.

Members introduced themselves. Meeting adjourned.